MaYaN is a Dutch symphonic metal band founded in 2010 by Mark Jansen (Epica), Jack Driessen (ex-After Forever) and Frank Schiphorst (Symmetry, Christmas Metal Symphony). MaYaN's style is best described as a mixture between symphonic, death and progressive metal. MaYaN have multiple vocalists with a wide variety of vocal styles, including everything from grunts, rock vocals, screams to classical singing. You might recognize the band members from their work with renown bands like Orphanage, Stream of Passion, Delain, Firewind, God Dethroned, and of course Epica and After Forever.

MaYaN released two full-length albums: Quarterpast (2011) and Antagonise (2014).

Because MaYaN has always had a profound love for epic movie scores, the next step was to record a new album with a live symphonic orchestra. To make this happen, an IndieGoGo crowdfunding campaign was started early 2018 to release MaYaN’s 3rd album called ‘Dhyana’ with a real orchestra. The ‘Dhyana’ concept reflects on conceptual themes such as remaining aware of our thoughts, removing egoic tendencies, and finding out who we truly are. ‘Dhyana’ is the moment when the individual mind is absorbed by the heart and melts with the universal mind. The crowdfunding campaign also included the availability of a new and exclusive EP called ‘Undercurrent’. Receiving tremendous support from the fans, the campaign ended successfully, raising more than €40,000 which covered all costs involved.

The City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra was chosen to partner with in recording ‘Dhyana’. This world-renowned symphonic orchestra was founded over 60 years ago and is one of the most respected and recorded orchestras. They are most notably known for their work in cinematic features such as the Star Wars saga, Hannibal (2001), and Arrival (2016). They are also known for recording the orchestral parts of Dimmu Borgir’s album ‘Death Cult Armageddon’. The orchestra recordings have taken place June 2018, and both MaYaN’s 3rd album ‘Dhyana’ and EP ‘Undercurrent’ will be released September 2018! 

MaYaN are:

- Grunts: Mark Jansen - George Oosthoek
- Clean male vocals: Adam Denlinger / Henning Basse (special guest)
- Clean female vocals: Laura Macrì - Marcela Bovio
- Keyboards: Jack Driessen
- Guitars: Frank Schiphorst - Merel Bechtold / Arjan Rijnen (backup) / Jord Otto (backup)
- Bass: Roel Käller
- Drums: Ariën van Weesenbeek


First Metal Festival
in the heart of Graz
- on the famous "Schloßberg"!

Our Partners

Website 2018 by HARD MEDIA